site sections


kurdistan map

About Kurdistan

General information


The name Kurdistan literally means Land of the Kurds. In the Iraqi Constitution, it is referred to as the Kurdistan Region. The full name of the government is the Kurdistan Regional Government (often abbreviated as the KRG).

The KRG is also referred to as Kurdistana Bashur or Bashuri Kurdistan (South Kurdistan) referring to its geographical location within the whole of the greater Kurdistan region.

Iraqi Kurdistan or the Kurdistan Region is an autonomous region of Iraq. It borders Iran to the east, Turkey to the north, Syria to the west and the rest of Iraq to the south.

The regional capital is Erbil, also known as Hawler. The region is officially governed by the Kurdistan Regional Government.